Since Proposition 64 passed in 2016, new weed laws in California are gradually being established to regulate the use of recreational marijuana. That’s right! Starting in 2018, recreational marijuana will be legal in California, which will make it easier to visit your local marijuana dispensary.
How did California get here?
Recreational Marijuana in California and Prop 64
Here’s a quick refresher. Proposition 215 passed in 1996 and that give us the green light to get a recommendation from cannabis doctors for medical marijuana. Then SB 420 passed in 2003, which allowed a medical marijuana card for all recommended patients. Finally, in 2016, Proposition 64 passed and recreational marijuana was on-deck to help California establish itself among the leaders in state-taxed recreational marijuana.
Prop 64 will allow anyone who is 21 years and older to buy marijuana from a licensed marijuana dispensary, but you have wait until 2018. So before you get excited and speed to the nearest marijuana dispensary in hopes that the rules are going to be just like they are in Washington and Colorado, there are some things you need to know about how to buy recreational marijuana in California.
Do I Still Need a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. The first thing you need to know is that your medical marijuana card is still valid and you can still use it. According to the Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulations, “Although Proposition 64 amends some statutory provisions governing the Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) program, it does not abolish it” (bmcr.ca.gov, 2017).
Having a medical marijuana card will enable patients to continue receiving certain privileges under Prop 215, which non-patients will not receive under Prop 64. Without a medical marijuana card, a person 21 years or older cannot keep over an ounce of marijuana or eight grams of concentrate in their possession under certain guidelines. Additionally, people without a medical marijuana card or grower’s license cannot grow more than six plants under the new weed laws in California. Unfortunately, this will not apply to all cities in California. In fact, many have expressed their intent to refuse the sale of recreational marijuana within their city limits.
People who still have recommendation from MMJ Doctors can still use it to get a medical marijuana card and receive more privilege than non-patients.
As a medical marijuana card holder with a grower’s license, “a licensed medical cultivator could also obtain a nonmedical cultivation license under Business and Professions Code Section 26053, provided the [grow] site meets all the requirements for both the Medical Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MCRSA) and the initiative” (bmcr.ca.gov, 2017).
More information on the new weed laws in California can be viewed at www.bmcr.ca.gov.
How Do I Get a MMJ Card?
The fastest and easiest way to get a medical marijuana card is to visit www.zenmd.net or download the mobile app ZenMD on your smartphone. The ZenMD mobile app will allow you to get a medical marijuana card online in a quick, 20-minute process through live video chat with a MMJ Doctor.
With the ZenMD mobile application, patients don’t need to physically go to the office to visit cannabis doctors at MMJ Doctor or 420 Evaluations. You can get evaluated anywhere as long as you have a smartphone. We make sure that every 420 evaluation is 100% confidential and secure, so there’s nothing to fear with using the mobile app. Patients who are 21 years and older can visit a MMJ Doctor online at any time with ZenMD. After you finish your evaluation with a MMJ Doctor, you will immediately receive a digital version of your online medical marijuana card, and then you’ll receive a physical copy of the medical marijuana card in the mail a few days after your 420 evaluations.
The MMJ Doctors at ZenMD understand the use of medical marijuana, the conditions it can help treat, and how patients can stay healthy through its use.
What is Not Allowed Under Prop 64?
Although Prop 64 will allow patients and non-patients certain privileges, there are still some restrictions that everyone must follow.
Cannot use marijuana in public places
Cannot smoke or vape marijuana in non-smoking areas
Cannot have more than one ounce of marijuana or eight grams of concentrate
Cannot use marijuana while driving
Cannot have an “open container” of marijuana in the car while driving
Cannot use or have marijuana on school properties
Keep in mind that you will not be able to buy recreational marijuana in California until January 2018, and not all marijuana dispensaries will offer recreational marijuana. Check with your local marijuana dispensary for more details about recreational marijuana and what is allowed under Prop 64.
http://mmjdoctor.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/rECREATIONAL-CANNABIS-CALIFORNIA.jpg750750adminhttp://mmjdoctor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/mmj-logotype.pngadmin2017-08-07 16:36:402017-08-07 16:42:582018: The Year of Recreational Marijuana