HOW TO BECOME A MEDICAL MARIJUANA PATIENT IN CALIFORNIA 2017

cannabis-can-help-high-blood-pressure-mmjdoctor

HOW TO BECOME A MEDICAL MARIJUANA PATIENT IN CALIFORNIA 2017

cannabis-and-painkiller-arthritis- medical-marijuana-card-doctor

Cannabis ID made easy

HOW TO BECOME A MEDICAL MARIJUANA PATIENT IN CALIFORNIA in California and do I need a medical marijuana card at all?  The answer is yes, you must have medical marijuana ID and a licensed doctor’s recommendation to purchase medical marijuana or cannabis based medicines in California in 2017.

 

For those who just want to get their cannabis ID and go to the medical marijuana dispensary right away, click here for a same day affordable online evaluation.

However, for those who wish to learn about the many important features of being legal for medical marijuana, read on.  While recreational marijuana use is legal, strange but true, you can’t buy pot legally until 2018.  Even then, MMJ ID is very desirable, because without it,  you’ll have to pay a recreational cannabis user tax of about 16%.  Given that a 420 recommendation with mmj ID costs $89 the savings on tax will be significant. For example, if you buy 8 ounces over a year, that’s about $2,000.  Without MMJ ID, your tax bill will be $300.

 

GET CANNABIS ID and MEDICAL MARIJUANA RECOMMENDATION SAME DAY ONLINE 

Thanks to the California Board of Medicine, getting Medical Cannabis ID online is an easy and very affordable option.  Just type in your personal information and describe your conditions and symptoms .

Conditions and symptoms that qualify you for a medical marijuana card in California include:

QUESTION AND ANSWER

 

Is my California ID or recommendation valid in Nevada

  • Yes

 

Will my health insurance pay for my recommendation or Marijuana ID?

  • No

 

With my 420 Recommendation and ID, can I grow marijuana.

  • Yes, up to 6 mature plants for personal consumption.

 

What happens if I am caught with pot or smoking it?

  • Just show the officer or person in authority your ID card.  You’re allowed to possess, consume or transport marijuana within the State of California, but not across any state lines.  Your legal status can be verified over the phone or the internet 24/7.

  • If you smoke pot where prohibited, you could be fined, however, law enforcement tends to be more lenient when they are dealing with legal medical marijuana patients.

 

How long is my ID valid for?

  • One year, renewals can be done online in a few minutes.

 

Where can I get a California medical marijuana Doctor’s recommendation and Medical Marijuana ID Card?

 

FURTHER READING

 

California Proposition 215, with revised Senate Bill 420

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS – FAQ

EVERYTHING YOU EVER WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT Medical Marijuana Law in California

The passage of Prop. 64 to legalize adult possession and cultivation of recreational cannabis in no way impinges on the rights of medical cannabis patients under Prop. 215.Patients with a state ID card are exempt from sales tax in dispensaries under the new law… read more

THE SITUATION FOR MEDICAL PATIENTS FOR THE YEAR 2017

In 2015, the California Legislature passed the MMJ Regulation and Safety Act (MMRSA or MCRSA), establishing permitting for cannabis cultivation and dispensaries, etc. at the state level (with local approval). The law went into effect on January 1, 2016; however, the state has said it needs until January 2018 to set up the related agencies, information systems, and regs to actually issue licenses. In the interim, municipal governments may choose to adopt ordinances to permit or license local businesses in preparation for state licensing. Facilities currently operating in accordance with state and local laws may continue to do so until such time as their license applications are approved or denied. In the meantime, prospective applicants are strongly advised to apply to the state Board of Equalization for a Resale Permit, and to prepare for seeking approval from their local governments. See the state Bureau of Medical cannabis Regulation website. read more

WHAT OFFENSES ARE COVERED?
Prop. 215 explicitly covers cannabis possession and cultivation (H&SC 11357 and 11358) for personal medical use. Hashish and concentrated cannabis, including edibles, ……read more

WHAT CONDITIONS AND SYMPTOMS ARE COVERED?
Prop. 215 lists “cancer, anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis, migraine, or any other illness for which cannabis provides relief. Physicians have recommended cannabis for hundreds of indications, including such common complaints as insomnia, PMS, post-traumatic stress, depression, and substance abuse….read more

WHO QUALIFIES AS A MEDICAL DOCTOR?
Prop. 215 applies to physicians, osteopaths and surgeons who are licensed to practice in California. It does not apply to chiropractors, herbal therapists, etc. See a list……read more

 

CAN I CULTIVATE UNDER PROP. 215?
Patients with a physician’s recommendation and their primary caregivers, defined as, “The individual designated by the person exempted under this act who has consistently assumed responsibility for the housing, health, or safety of that person.” ….read more

HOW MUCH CAN I POSSESS OR GROW?
Under Prop. 215, patients are entitled to whatever amount of cannabis is necessary for their personal medical use. However, patients can be arrested if they exceed reasonable amounts and they can be cited or fined for ….read more

CAN I BE ARRESTED OR RAIDED?
Yes, unfortunately. Many legal patients have been raided or arrested for having dubious recommendations, for growing amounts that police deem excessive, on account of neighbors’ complaints, etc…..read more

CAN I BE CHARGED OR PROSECUTED FEDERALLY?
Under the U.S. Controlled Substances Act, possession of any cannabis is a misdemeanor and cultivation is a felony. A Supreme Court ruling, Gonzalez v Raich (June 2005), rejected a constitutional challenge by two patients who argued that their personal medical use ….read more

SHOULD I GET A STATE MMJ ID CARD?
Patients are not required to get an ID card to enjoy the protection of Prop. 215, but a state card can provide an extra measure of protection against arrest…..read more

WHERE CAN I BUY MEDICAL CANNABIS?
Even though Prop. 215 doesn’t explicitly legalize sales, hundreds of collectives are presently providing cannabis to patients in accordance with SB 420 and the A.G.’s guidelines. Find dispensaries and delivery services by zip code or city…..read more

WHERE CAN MARIJUANA BE SMOKED?
SB420 bars cannabis smoking in no smoking zones, within 1000 feet of a school or youth center except in private residences; on school buses, in a motor vehicle that is being operated, or while operating a boat. Patients are advised to be discreet or consume oral preparations in public….read more

WHERE CAN I GROW MEDICINE?
Although Prop. 215 allows patients to grow their own medicine, landlords are not legally obliged to allow it. Many cities and counties have passed zoning ordinances that restrict where patients can grow, in some cases outlawing cultivation altogether. See local policies….read more

CAN I SELL MY EXCESS MEDICINE?
In general sales of cannabis are NOT permitted under Prop 215. However, SB 420 authorizes legal caregivers and collective/cooperative members to charge for their expenses in growing for others on a “non-profit” basis. Hostile police sometimes misinterpret this….read more

HOW CAN I START A COLLECTIVE?
The A.G. has issued guidelines for operation of cannabis collectives and coops. For details, see our collective tips page….read more

CAN PRISONERS AND PROBATIONERS USE MEDICAL MARIJUANA?
SB420 allows probationers, parolees, and prisoners to use medical cannabis and to ask a judge to verify their rights. However, medical cannabis is regularly disallowed in jails …..read more

CAN PATIENTS BE DRUG TESTED AT WORK?
The California Supreme Court has ruled that employers have a right to drug test and fire patients who test positive for cannabis, regardless of their medical use (Ross v RagingWire, 2008). Some employers will excuse patients if they present a valid 215 recommendation. Others won’t….read more

CAN I TAKE MY MEDICAL MARIJUANA ON A PLANE?
Some airports, like Los Angeles and Oakland, are respectful of patients’ rights, but others like Burbank aren’t. If TSA security screeners find cannabis in your luggage, the standard procedure is to turn you over to local law enforcement, who follow state, not federal, law. To avoid hassles, patients are strongly advised NOT to declare their medicine to TSA….., but to carry it discreetly like other medicines along with proof of their 215 eligibility….read more

HOW LONG ARE RECOMMENDATIONS GOOD FOR?
Under Prop. 215, a recommendation is valid so long as the doctor says it is. However, SB420 requires ID cards to be renewed annually, and many police refuse to recognize recommendations that are older than a year or so…… read more

 

WHAT ABOUT OUT OF STATE?
Prop. 215 arguably applies to anyone with a recommendation from a California physician, regardless of whether they’re a resident, although this has never been tested in court. However, most California physicians and dispensaries refuse to serve out-of-staters……read more

WHAT ABOUT MINORS?
Patients under 18 should have parental consent…..read more

CAN I GROW OR USE MEDICAL MARIJUANA WITH CHILDREN IN THE HOUSE?
There is nothing in state law against this. However it’s advised to keep your medical cannabis away from children…read more

CAN I OWN OR BUY A GUN WITH A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD?
The federal Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms sent warning letters to gun dealers in 2011 warning them they could not sell to known medical cannabis users. When buying a gun, you may be asked whether you are a user of illegal drugs and/or medical cannabis….read more

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *