Since the legalization of the medical use of marijuana in the US, many states have been following suit. Now, patients with qualifying medical conditions can access cannabis upon having a recommendation from licensed healthcare providers.
However, not everyone can get their hands on marijuana. Different states work differently, and Oklahoma is no exception.
Get numerous CBD benefits by clicking the button below!
History of Marijuana in Oklahoma
After the criminalization of marijuana use in 1933, Oklahoma was one of the states that viciously prosecuted anyone involved in the use of cannabis. The officials went as far as having helicopter patrols to find more growers, users, and sellers of marijuana back then.
However, in 2015, laws allowing the use of CBD oil were passed. These laws gave guidelines on the cannabinoid composition, stating that the products should have less than 0.3% THC.
After a few disputes and petitions, Oklahoma became the 30th state in the US to legalize the use of marijuana for medicinal purposes in 2018.
Now, you can access medicinal marijuana by having a recommendation from your doctor.
Laws and Regulations Governing Medical Marijuana
A little weed is considered enough, and when you fail to understand this, you might end up with some severe side-effects. As a result of the dangers posed by excessive use of cannabis, Oklahoma established laws to govern the Cultivation, use, and sale of marijuana.
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority now oversees all the guidelines on using medical marijuana in the state.
Some of these regulations include:
Possession and Cultivation of Medical Marijuana
Despite the state of Oklahoma legalizing marijuana for medicinal purposes, there are still some grey areas regarding the issue. Besides, law enforcement agents do not always make the process any easier.
Medical marijuana use in Oklahoma is limited to authorized researchers, patients with qualifying medical conditions, and designated caregivers.
Currently, anyone found in possession of marijuana without a state-issued license is subject to a $400 fine or more. And this is only for patients with less than 1.5 ounces of weed.
When found in possession of marijuana with no medical condition requiring you to use weed then the applicable penalty intensifies. Since law enforcement officers are often confounded by what laws to follow, it is up to them to determine the crime you are charged for.
Get the therapeutic effects of high CBD strains by clicking the button below!
Laws on Amounts of Marijuana You Can Have
Under the State Question, 788 law passed on legalization of medical marijuana use, patients with a state-issued license can possess, grow, or use pot legally. However, the amount of marijuana you can possess is limited.
- 72 ounces of edibles
- 1 ounce of concentrated marijuana
- Six mature plants- these are taken to be marijuana plants that are already in the budding stage
- Six seedling marijuana plants that are yet to bud
- Up to 3 ounces of marijuana
- Up to 8 ounces of marijuana at the place of residence
The state laws only protect people with licenses to have weed in their possession. Anyone else falls under the criminal law that prohibits possession of any type of drug.
So, when found in possession of marijuana without a license, you can get a $1000 fine and up to one year jail time.
Registry ID Card
As previously mentioned, the State of Oklahoma only protects patients with a state-issued license to grow or use marijuana.
Therefore, before buying or using marijuana, it is essential that you register for a medical marijuana ID card from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority. Once you register with the body, you get an MMID that allows you to buy marijuana from licensed marijuana dispensaries near you.
Where Can You Buy Medical Marijuana?
Access to medical marijuana to registered patients is easy. All you need is your medical marijuana ID, and you can walk into any licensed dispensary and buy some weed.
You can carry the marijuana with you or leave the task to a licensed caregiver.
For researchers, you can also get your weed from the state dispensaries after registering with the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drug Control.
In this case, the laws on possession apply, as it becomes a criminal offense to buy or transport more than 3 ounces of marijuana at any given time.
Places You Can Use Medical Marijuana
All smokable forms of marijuana can be used in areas that allow for tobacco smokers. That means smoking any marijuana in public places is illegal and attracts criminal charges.
On the other hand, you can have edibles anywhere.
Any other form of weed is illegal for use in public places, and the use should be restricted to private spaces.
Using Marijuana While Driving
Intoxication when driving is highly prohibited everywhere. That includes any schedule 1 controlled substances or chemical compounds.
When caught, the perpetrator stands a penalty ranging from 10 days in jail to one year or even more.
Maybe you think that because you have a license, then the use of medicinal weed must be exempt from this provision. Unfortunately, this isn’t the case since marijuana is still a schedule 1 drug in the US. So, even if you have a license to use and possess weed, you cannot drive when under its influence.
Most importantly, remember that the State of Oklahoma does not allow for the recreational use of marijuana.
Age Restriction on Medical Marijuana
Marijuana in Oklahoma is only allowed to patients who are above 18 years. If not, then parents are required to register as designated caregivers before the minor can get a medical marijuana ID for their medical condition.
With all these regulations, the use of marijuana at your workplaces, when shopping, or having more than the stipulated amount of weed is illegal and attracts punishment.
Get benefits from your Oklahoma Medical Marijuana card by clicking the button below!
If you are a patient with a qualifying medical condition in Oklahoma, you can always apply for a state license. This way, you can grow, use, or possess a certain amount of pot at any one time.
However, it would be best to abide by the state bodies’ regulations to avoid criminal charges.
If you wish to apply for a medical marijuana card, then it is essential you get a doctor’s recommendation. And for that, MMJ Doctor offers the best online services to help you get your ID. Start enjoying the benefits of weed.