Medical marijuana became legal in Missouri in 2018, and the first dispensary got its license to operate in late October 2020. What stood out from the operation of these clinics is the strict adherence to the law. The state of Missouri enacted laws ensuring that only patients with approved qualifying conditions and medical marijuana cards got to buy weed from these clinics.
Get beneficial health effects of Medical Marijuana by clicking the button below!
Now, maybe you are looking for a Missouri medical marijuana card, and you keep repeating the same mistake of using unsuitable websites. Are you looking for a prompt, honest, and reliable way to get a medical marijuana card from the state?
Maybe you are seeking an alternative to your prescription drugs that keep causing severe side effects. Or, you’re in search of a solution for the chronic pain that’s giving you sleepless nights. You’d not want to keep walking the streets or browsing the internet and finding fraudulent and misinformed websites.
If that is your case, then you are in the right place. Below, we outline the step-by-step process you should follow to get an authentic and genuine Missouri MMJ card for your weed.
In this piece, we discuss the step by step process for getting your Missouri medical marijuana card from the department of health and senior services or DHSS.
- Precautions to take when visiting a clinic
- How you qualify for an application for a medical marijuana card in Missouri
- Ways of proving your residency in Missouri
- Finding a licensed medical health provider
- Booking and attending your in-person evaluation
- Applying for your medical marijuana card
- FAQs about Missouri medical marijuana cards
Use Medical Cannabis to enjoy its numerous health benefits by clicking the button below!
Precautions You Should Take When Visiting a Clinic
During these times, when the COVID-19 global pandemic is shutting down many operations globally, you must adhere to guidelines provided to curb its spread. Among the recommendations provided include:
- Maintaining social distance by staying at least 6 feet away from each other.
- Avoiding crowded places, which means you only bring along essential persons.
- Sanitizing or cleaning your hands with soap and running water to kill the virus.
The highest number of deaths reported from the Coronavirus health concern involves cases of people with underlying conditions. It’d be best, therefore, if you found a way to apply for your medical marijuana card without traveling around, to lower your risks of infection.
Fortunately, when you can’t get to a clinic, you can always use new and modern telehealth facilities.
How to Be a Patient in Missouri
Medical marijuana is bringing revolutionary changes in the medical field. Patients struggling with chronic pain and severe side effects or non-responsive prescription drugs opt to use weed as an alternative or complementary treatment.
To qualify as a patient for consideration, you must:
- Be over 18 years of age
- An official resident of Missouri
- Have one of the listed qualifying conditions discussed below
Once you check all these boxes, then you can go for a recommendation from a licensed medical health provider, which you upload on the Missouri DHSS website in less than 30 days, lest it becomes void.
Proof of residency
As mentioned before, you need to provide documents to show that you are a Missouri resident before you can get a recommendation. For this, you can use several documents, including:
- A valid Missouri issued driver’s license
- A Missouri-issued Identification card
- A recent utility bill paid in Missouri, not more than 30 days old
- Your vehicle registration in Missouri
- Proof of full-time employment in Missouri
- A lease agreement or property papers issued by the state of Missouri
Additional documents to prove your residency in Missouri include a military order showing your assignment to Missouri.
Get your health issues fixed with Medical Cannabis by clicking the button below!
Qualifying conditions in Missouri
To be eligible for a Missouri medical marijuana card, you must have one of the following conditions:
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Wasting Syndrome
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Eating disorders
- Sickle cell anemia
Read here for more information on qualifying conditions in Missouri.
After qualifying and finding all your supporting documents, it is time to move on to the next stage. Here, there are three simple steps.
Discover the amazing benefits of Medical Marijuana by clicking the button below!
Finding a Licensed Medical Practitioner
This part is probably the hardest. However, since the State of Missouri provides license numbers to the public, you can verify the doctor’s credentials.
Also, the lack of a transparent standpoint of marijuana in the medical field makes it hard for all doctors to agree on its role in treating chronic conditions. Therefore, not every doctor supports the use of medical marijuana. For this reason, you must find a marijuana-friendly doctor and book an appointment.
When finding your marijuana-friendly doctor, make sure they are registered in Missouri; else, your recommendation will be null.
Visit the Doctor for an Appointment
A recommendation is a crucial part of the attached documents when applying for a Missouri medical marijuana card. To get one of these, you need to visit your marijuana-friendly doctor, who examines your medical history and current condition.
Once you see the doctor, you will get a clear understanding of:
- How marijuana will work to relieve your symptoms
- Possible side effects from the use of medical marijuana
- The type, dose, and method of use you should lean towards for maximum efficiency
During the appointment, you can also ask your doctor about any concerns you might have regarding the use of medical marijuana for your condition.
Once the doctor finds you fit for the application, they will sign a certification form, which you attach to your other documents for the online upload on the Missouri DHSS website.
Complete Your Online Application
Once you receive your doctor’s certification form, you can go ahead and upload your documents on the Missouri DHSS website.
However, you must keep in mind that the application is only valid if your medical certification form is no more than 30 days old.
Once you are on the Missouri DHSS website, there are three simple steps to follow to complete your application:
- First, fill out the necessary forms.
- If you are looking for the standard dosage of four ounces per month, you should fill out the Standard Physician Certification Form
- For patients under 18, you should submit a Parent/Legal Guardian consent form
- Caregivers apply using the Patient Authorization form
- Secondly, you need to register with the Complia Application portal to check the Patient/|Caregiver application registration box. This is an essential step because the department of health and senior services in Missouri accepts applications submitted online.
- Finally, you can complete the application process by signing into your Complia account and creating an application to fill in the new patient registration fields.
Book an Appointment by clicking the banner below.
The MDHSS might send you an email asking for corrections on certain parts. When you get such an email, make sure you reply to them in less than ten days, else your application becomes invalid.
When you pass for a Missouri medical marijuana card, you will receive an email with your ID. You can then print this copy and use it to buy medical marijuana from dispensaries across Missouri.
- The state of Missouri does not issue physical medical marijuana cards.
- You need to pay a non-refundable fee of $25 to the state department when applying for a medical marijuana card.
Once your application is accepted and approved, you can receive your ID within 30 days.
FAQs about Medical Marijuana Cards in Missouri
How much time until I complete an MMJ card application in Missouri?
Typically, the state department takes up to 30 days to process an application. However, when it fails to approve, or else, denies your application at the time, then you can use your medical certification form as your medical marijuana ID before you can apply for a card again.
However, the state department of Missouri is efficient and reliable during this process. Therefore, the lack of any feedback rarely occurs.
How often do you renew your card?
A Missouri medical marijuana card is valid for one year after the issuing date. Therefore, you should apply for a new card annually. To avoid inconsistencies during the replacement, you should start your card renewal process at least 30 days before your current one expires.
How many patients can a caregiver have?
When applying to be a caregiver to patients with qualifying conditions, Missouri’s state only allows for a maximum of three patients.
Does insurance cover medical marijuana treatment?
Despite the milestones made by marijuana in the medical industry, insurance companies are yet to jump on board. Also, since marijuana is federally illegal, insurance companies are reluctant to cover these marijuana-based treatments.
However, for FDA approved drugs, such as Epidiolex, approved for the treatment of seizures, insurance companies can cater to these treatment plans.
Can a nurse issue a recommendation?
The state of Missouri is quite particular on who can issue a certification form. Nurses and dentists cannot do that. Only Missouri-licensed medical health providers can write up a recommendation for you.
Can I use my out of state card to buy weed in Missouri?
Laws governing the use, growth, transportation, and purchase of medical marijuana in Missouri prohibit the use of out-of-state medical marijuana cards to buy cannabis in Missouri. Therefore, you can only get weed in Missouri if you have a locally issued card.
You cannot bring in your weed into Missouri, as this is trafficking, which attracts a penalty and jail time, depending on the amount.
Can I get an MMJ card if I have been to prison?
Missouri is liberal about who gets a medical marijuana card. So, if you have served some jail time in the past, you can still apply for a card, provided you are a resident, above the age of 18, and have a qualifying condition.
Click the button below to heal yourself through Medical Cannabis now!
As noted, the process of acquiring a Missouri medical marijuana card is easy. When using telehealth services, you can complete the whole process at home and get your ID in 30 days or less.
However, you need to follow the stipulated guidelines so that your application is successful. Attach all the necessary documents, and respond to emails asking for clarification.